Full race schedule, how to watch it on TV and the current standings

Max Verstappen of the Netherlands driving the (1) Oracle Red Bull Racing RB18 leads Charles Leclerc of Monaco driving the (16) Ferrari F1-75 during the Monaco F1 Grand Prix at the Circuit de Monaco on May 29, 2022 in Monte-Carlo , Monaco. – Formula 1/Formula 1 via Getty Images

Formula 1’s 2021 season was one of the best in living memory, with Max Verstappen winning the title from Lewis Hamilton in death under controversial circumstances after a thrilling 22-race season.

The new season is coming and with it a new generation of cars.

However, for all of Ferrari’s revival in pace, its reliability and driver errors have opened up significant gaps in both championships, with Max Verstappen and Red Bull clearly leading in both.

When is the next race?

With F1 on its traditional summer break, the next race to take place is the Belgian Grand Prix, which runs from Friday 26 August to Sunday 28 August.

What are the current ratings?

Will there be sprint races this year?

After testing three sprint qualifying races in 2021, F1 has proposed doubling that to six next season. However, following a meeting on 14 February, it was confirmed that only three sprint races would take place in 2022, subject to approval by the World Motor Sport Council.

Fortunately and sensibly, the FIA ​​also changed the official name of the event to ‘sprint’ rather than ‘qualifying sprint’. They will be in the next rounds.

4th round, imola
11th round, Austria
22nd round, Brazil

There will be more points on offer this year, however. Last year it was a 3-2-1 setup for first, second and third, but this year points will be awarded all the way to eighth, gradually decreasing from eight points for first place.

The sprint races will be approximately 100km – or about a third of the GP distance – and will take place on Saturday, with the traditional three-part qualifying setting the grid for the sprint and taking place on Friday.

Another small change is that the driver leading the standings on Friday when these sprint races take place will be awarded pole position, not the sprint winner.

What are the pilot lineups?

Unlike in previous years, there are few driver changes this season, with seven of the 10 teams keeping the same lineup, two teams making a change (Williams and Mercedes) and one team having a completely new lineup (Alfa Romeo).

The only newcomer is Alfa Romeo’s Guanyu Zhou, who becomes the first driver from China to race in F1. Alexander Albon returns to Williams after two seasons at Toro Rosso and Red Bull in 2019 and 2020.

Guanyu Zhou of China and Alfa Romeo Racing prepares to drive in the garage during Formula 1 testing at Yas Marina Circuit on December 14, 2021 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates - Clive Rose/Getty Images

Guanyu Zhou of China and Alfa Romeo Racing prepares to drive in the garage during Formula 1 testing at Yas Marina Circuit on December 14, 2021 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates – Clive Rose/Getty Images

Mercedes: Lewis Hamilton (44) and George Russell (63)
Red Bull: Max Verstappen (33) and Sergio Perez (11)
Ferrari: Carlos Sainz (55) and Charles Leclerc (55)
McLaren: Lando Norris (4) and Daniel Ricciardo (3)
Alpine: Fernando Alonso (14) and Esteban Ocon (31)
AlphaTauri: Pierre Gasly (10) and Yuki Tsunoda (22)
Aston Martin: Sebastian Vettel (5) and Lance Stroll (18)
Williams: Nicholas Latifi (6) and Alexander Albon (23)
Alfa Romeo: Valtteri Bottas (77) and Guanyu Zhou (24)
Haha: Mick Schumacher (47) and Kevin Magnussen (20)

What is the full calendar?

March 18th to 20th: Bahrain Grand Prixsakhir
March 25th to 27th: Saudi Arabian Grand PrixJeddah
April 8th to 10th: Australian Grand PrixMelbourne
April 22nd to 24th: Emilia Romagna Grand Priximola
May 6th to 8th: Miami Grand PrixMiami
May 20th to 22nd: Spanish Grand Prixcatalonia
May 27th to 29th: Monaco Grand PrixMonte Carlo
June 10th to 12th: Azerbaijan Grand Prixbaku
June 17th to 19th: Canadian Grand PrixMontreal
1st to 3rd of July: Great Britain Grand Prixsilverstone
July 8th to 10th: Austrian Grand PrixSpielberg
22nd to 24th of July: French Grand PrixLe Castellet
July 29th to 31st: Hungarian Grand PrixBudapest
August 26th to 28th: Belgian Grand PrixSpa-Francorchamps
September 2nd to 4th: Dutch Grand PrixZandvoort
September 9th to 11th: Italian Grand Prixmonza
September 30th to October 2nd: Singapore Grand PrixSingapore
October 7th to 9th: Japan Grand PrixSuzuka
October 21st to 23rd: United States Grand PrixAustin
October 28th to 30th: Mexico City Grand PrixMexico City
November 11th to 13th: Sao Paulo Grand Prix, interlagos
November 18th to 20th: Abu Dhabi Grand PrixYas Marina

how to watch the season

As has been the case for some time in the UK, Sky Sports F1 has almost exclusive coverage rights for the season. They will show all practice sessions, qualifying sessions, sprint qualifying and races throughout the season.

Channel 4 will have its extended qualifying and race highlights again, with the British Grand Prix in July broadcast live.

If you are outside the UK, you can also subscribe to F1’s F1TV for a monthly fee throughout the season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.